Micromanaging diet & Electrolyte replacement recipes

 

It’s back to the drawing board.  Lower carb, moderate fat, higher protein, and mostly soluble fiber with very little roughage.  I’m being told completely different things by all of my doctors regarding what my diet should look like, so until they can all agree on something, I’m going to eat intuitively – if something bothers me, it gets nixed from the ingredients list.

Say goodbye to…:

  • Broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage (although mild kimchi and kraut are usually okay)
  • Mushrooms, raw or cooked
  • Raw spinach, or other greens.  Small amounts of cooked greens don’t have much impact.
  • Empty carbs like rice, bread, tortillas, chips, regular pasta, and any sort of added sugar (granulated, honey, agave, maple syrup, etc) – terrible for blood glucose homeostasis
  • All dairy products, with the exception of ghee.  Having experimented with butter, I found that it still contains enough milk proteins to cause a reaction, but ghee seems to be relatively neutral at this point.
  • Cherries.  This one makes me the saddest.  I used cherries as a nightcap for almost a year.  They’re strongly anti-inflammatory containing a salicylate type compound, and also have a good amount of melatonin which helped with my sleep quality.  Placebo or not, it worked for me.
  • Most animal proteins, with the exception of eggs, which I eat as tolerated.

I’m plagued by dehydration.  No matter how much water or juice I consume, I can’t seem to maintain a euvolemic state.  I consulted with a dietitian who gave me a sheet with recipes for electrolyte replacement drinks, which have been my savior.  My hypersensitivity to sugar being what it is, I couldn’t drink straight Gatorade without paying the consequences, thus I avoided it.  This recipe effectively cuts the sugar in half by watering it down, and the blood sugar impact is minimal.  Small amounts of glucose/sucrose are necessary for increasing cellular uptake of electrolytes, so ‘diet’ sports drinks don’t work as well.  I drink one liter of solution a day in addition to my normal water and fluid intake and seem to be staying on top of hydration, for the time being – fingers crossed.

Sports Drink Based Oral Rehydration Solution

  • 2 cups Gatorade, Powerade, Pedialyte, etc
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (bicarbonate)

Juice-Based ORS

  • 1/2 cup grape, or cranberry juice. 1 cup if using apple juice
  • 3 1/2 cups water (or 3 cups if using apple juice)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (bicarbonate)

Mix well in a 1 liter or larger container, refrigerate and sip throughout the day.

World Health Organization ORS recipe – this one is great if you have severe diarrhea

  • 3/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt substitute (potassium chloride)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda (bicarbonate)
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • enough filtered water to constitute to 1 liter (about 4 1/4 cups)

Mix well, sip throughout the day.  Discard after 24 hours.

 

Talk to me, Goose!

