The freedom to dump without measuring

IMG_20150423_141402~2[1]

I’m freeeeeeeee!  We got the teeter-totter balanced well enough between diet and medication while I was inpatient that they felt comfortable releasing me yesterday afternoon.  I had a multidisciplinary meeting with my GI doc, Internist/hospitalist, and Nephrologist yesterday morning and I didn’t like what they had to say.  Even though I’m not in the hospital, I’ll be there a couple of days a week for close followup indefinitely.  When I’m feeling “well”, the babysitting can be scaled back.

My new title is professional patient.  As Dr. A says, the train is on it’s way to a certain destination; improved quality of life, but unfortunately the train has to make a bunch of stops before we can get there.  Lovely analogy.  I’m a shitty patient by nature, so we’ll see how long I can keep up the pace before I fizzle and begin behaving like an obstinate child again.  I’m being assigned a case manager, even though I didn’t ask for one.  How overwhelmed I am must be obvious.

One of the stops is mental health.  By the end of this week, and spending 12 out of the past 14 days in a stuffy hospital room, I was ready to jump out of the window, so I’m going to start seeing someone for emotional support.

IMG_20150424_015056~2[1]

I was able to complete my iron infusions, and I’m hopeful that I’ll eventually notice the difference.  My hemoglobin/crit completely tanked, and I’m definitely feeling it.  I have a scheduled visit with the Hemotologist in May to see how the marrow is coping.

Damn, it feels so good to be home.  I have another lab assessment Monday, so I fully intend to enjoy these next two days just in case.  The biggest relief?  Being able to use the toilet without having to hover and measure everything that comes out.  TMI, but definitely noteworthy.

One thought on “The freedom to dump without measuring

  1. Pingback: Doctors who don’t suck | Polishing Dookie

Talk to me, Goose!

