My swallowed pride is stuck in my nose

Having a bunch of diseases is a juggling act.  Luckily, I’ve only got 3 balls to juggle; Crohn’s (and a long list of other GI disorders), Kidney Disease, and Neuropathy.  While juggling, one ball is always up in the air.  Sometimes two balls, and rarely all three.  I’d drop them, or throw them at someone, but let’s just assume I’d turn into a blob of anti-matter and the universe as we know it will cease to exist, all because I lost my balls.

I was starting to think that no balls were in the air, as my little disease pals have been relatively quiet.  Things are getting better, right?  It has been a couple of months since I had to sleep in a hospital.  I’m thinking to myself, “well, isn’t this nice.”

One of my balls is up in the air, and it may even be a new/different ball.  In July I was scheduled for an esophageal manometry test, which basically shows what happens with the muscles in my esophagus when I swallow.  At the time, food and liquids would frequently get stuck in my throat and I’d choke, then spew it all over.  I spent most of the summer with my parents while my broken ankle healed, so I never did get that test completed.  The problem seemed to go away on its own, and I don’t know anyone who would volunteer to have a tube shoved down their nose just for the fun of it.

It’s probably time to get that test reordered, because now when I swallow, food, and sometimes pills, goes up my nose instead of down into my foodbag.  So, what happens when your nasal cavity fills up with donuts, tofu, and calcium tablets?  Sinus infection!  My fabulous doctor took one look up my nose today and said “Ewwww!”.  That’s comforting.  I’m supposed to take amox for 10 days, flush my sinuses with saline twice a week as long as I’m insufflating my food and beverages, and he sent me to the lab for the basics (I totally dragged my feet on that one).  He told me to see my neurologist, because the whole nasal regurgitation thing is likely a neural issue (aka nothing they can do about it so why even bother?).

I suck at juggling.

3 thoughts on “My swallowed pride is stuck in my nose

  1. It’s funny how you can take just about any medical condition and apply it to your own symptoms. Well, I can do that, and I just assume that a lot of other people do it, too. 🙂

    I can very easily apply my TMJ/degenerative disk disease to almost all the symptoms of fibromyalgia, with just a few exceptions. Since all patients suffer a variety of symptoms, some which could signal a medical condition and some that are just part of an existing medical condition, how are we supposed to come up with a diagnosis? Slap a label on it?

    I guess that’s what we have doctors for, as if I trust some stranger to know what’s going on in my body, no matter how long he went to college. No matter how many degrees she has up on the wall.

    So, I have used my powers (granted to me by a medical school on the internet) to diagnose you, and I’ve decided that you suffer from this:

    http://www.mayfieldchiaricenter.com/chiari_symptoms.php

    And guess what? I think I have this, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hear you. I’ve been struggling with choking (likely related to my inoperable brain tumor) and nausea but I keep putting off a call to my neuro. Go away, stop poking and prodding me!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. First of all are you SURE you don’t have tetanus? No, really, I’m any half kidding. See, in my graduate dorm there were all these guys who were training to be in the CIA, so they were nutters right out of the gate.

    This one guy was reading G. Gordon Litty’s book about espionage and torture, so this brilliant student holds a lighter under the palm of his hand, to train himself to be immune to pain.

    I saw him in our communal kitchen one afternoon, kneading a blob of chopped meat, onions, and raw egg. He was making Steak Tartare. Doesn’t your burned hand hurt, I asked innocently. No, says he, it’s a third degree burn. They don’t hurt.

    Then he launches into a technical discourse about how hot for how long produces this and that degree of burn, etc. So I left, and the time I saw him, he was in the hospital, intubated, sedated, and artificially paralyzed.

    You see, he hadn’t got his tetanus shot (tsk tsk), so the tetanus germs that were cavorting in the chopped meat invited themselves right in.

    But don’t go yet.

    The whole reason I brought this up in the first place is, this young spy’s chief complaint upon admission to the ER was: every time he took a drink of beer, it came his nose. It seemed as if, rather than being sensibly concerned about his esophagus, he was miffed that his beer refused to go down properly.

    The good news is that after three or four months he was successfully weaned from the ventilator, and although he required a bit of physiotherapy after having had such a rest, he transferred to the Business School.

    I’m sorry your esophagus is misbehaving. I would have a strict talk with it. Damn, if only we could make these bodies BEHAVE!!! Sending love and gentle hugs–Laura

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to me, Goose!

