Fever: Fight it or let it burn?

I rely on herd immunity because I’m a dick who refuses to get my yearly flu shot.  I haven’t gotten the flu since 2006, which was also the last year I got a flu shot.  It’s 2016.  10 years without becoming influenza’d, except now I’ve got it.  Damn, I am flu’ing all over the place.  I thought it was another head cold, until places that normally don’t hurt started to seriously ache, a nice rumbly cough began rattling my ribcage, and I spiked a fever of 103.  If I weren’t on immunosupressants, I wouldn’t have the flu. I was super immune to most normal sickness (if you don’t count the 2 month long alleged gastro-virus last spring) Of course, having a foot of small bowel removed instead seems like a crappier alternative so I’ll just accept that from hence forth, I’ll catch EVERY SINGLE BUG that goes around.  I used to think if I got normal person sick, I wouldn’t know.  Well, now I know better.  No matter how shitty I think I feel, it’s always possible to feel worse.  I suspect I’ve said this many times before, but every time I say it, it feels like a major revelation.  Every day is a new day when 80% of your brain cells have either been fried, committed suicide, or been stolen.

I’m not exactly sure what’s okay to take to get me through without suffocating, and what will kill me.  Everything that might actually help is countraindicated, so I figure if I space the doses out an extra 3 hours, I shouldn’t overdose?  I’m no expert.  I’d like to breathe, because breathing is great, great fun, and greatly important for the whole living thing.  I’ve been taking 12-hour sudafed and I’m not dead yet, hoorah.

The thing I wonder about is reducing the fever?  I am permitted to take tylenol, but its effect on any complaint is minimal to non-existant.  I have a fever for a reason this time (still no answers about the chronic low-grade fever), so it makes sense to suffer through and leave it be so my body can slay the invading virus.  I’m taking a salt bath in a little bit to help with the flu funk.

What do you do when you get a cold or the flu?  Do you load up on medication to help deal with the symptoms?  Guzzle nyquil (oooyum)?  Or do you let it run its course naturally?

4 thoughts on “Fever: Fight it or let it burn?

  1. Ugh! I can sympathize. I have no immune system, courtesy of radiation, so my friends and family know I live my life in isolation as much as possible. The last time I got sick I got pneumonia in both lungs when the rest of the house got a chest cold. (I’m not afraid to spray them with Lysol!) That being said, I’m allergic to 3 classes of antibiotics (penicillin, tetracycline, and sulfa drugs) so I load up on meds to feel better. Nyquil is your friend! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Over the counter stuff mostly, which is hit or miss. Mucinex helped the last two colds. Cough drops (or maybe because I think the lemon ones kinda taste like candy). Hot tea and/or lemonade, because my mother swears by it and for the few minutes I’m drinking it I do actually feel a little better. Nyquil so I can sleep without coughing through the night. If I can’t breathe through my nose, some kind of nasal spray. Of course, your mileage may vary 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

