My love/hate relationship with the ketogenic diet

It has been about two weeks of attempting to behave myself in terms of what I eat.  I’m not perfect, and expecting that of myself would only cause me to quit.  I slip up periodically, and that’s fine.  I pick up where I left off without beating myself up (my body does a mighty fine job of punishing me).

I use MyFitnessPal to keep track of my macros.  It is sort of a pain in the ass to log every single thing I eat, but the longer I do it, the more intuitive meal prep becomes and the less guesswork there is.

My target is 15% carb/65% fat/20% protein.  I did a decent job this week:

Yesterday my carb count was 2%!  It really does an amazing job of reducing diarrhea and bloat, though I’m still waiting on the pain to subside.  I imagine that’ll be the toughest symptom to eradicate, since my gut pain is both structural and functional.  I have been noticing some blood in my stool recently, and I’m not sure what to make of it.  It may have something to do with von Willebrand’s. Overall, I do feel quite a bit better, minus having the flu. 😉

The first couple of days while adapting, I did have some pretty gnarly night sweats, presumably due to hypoglycemia, but after I got past that, my blood sugar has been freakishly stable (between 70 fasting, and 95ish postprandial).

I don’t crave sweets anymore, but I definitely have a big appetite for salty stuff.  Having read several sources that say carb cycling is beneficial for women due to the propensity for hormone imbalance after extended periods of low carb intake, I’ve been intentionally busting my macros once a week.  No, I don’t eat candy or pastries.  I stick with oatmeal, sweet potatoes, and gluten-free pasta.  I have to admit, after abstaining from all grains 6 days out of the week, my carb loading day is a bit uncomfortable.

I’m also struggling with a limited palate.  The allowed veggies are causing me major grief if I eat them in optimal amounts, so I’m doing what I can and hoping the supplements are enough to fill in the gaps.

I had planned to post some recipes, but there are plenty of sites out there that have great recipes available and are written by seasoned keto’ers.  I am in the process of perfecting garlic spinach almond flour fritters that definitely need to be in the spot light once I get the flavor tweaked (when I can actually taste food!).

Meal planning is a bit easier since my options are so restricted, and it also challenges my kitchen creativity, which I love.  At the same time, the diet is very clinical, so the simple pleasure of enjoying the food I love without overthinking my choices is completely lost.  It’s a very difficult thing to adjust to, but I’m managing.

If you’re interested in reading more about the Ketogenic diet, or recipes, these are a few good websites to get you started.

http://www.ketogenic-diet-resource.com/

http://www.ruled.me/guide-keto-diet/

https://www.reddit.com/r/keto

http://robbwolf.com/

http://www.wickedstuffed.com/

I will also be adding more information on diets beneficial in treating IBD and IBS to my Recommended Reading & Resources page eventually.  I may link to my food blog at some point if I find any appropriate recipes in my archive.  Thanks for sticking around for all of this boring stuff. 😉

I hope this information can help someone else, as well!

6 thoughts on “My love/hate relationship with the ketogenic diet

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I am going to look for alternatives to what I’ve been using (Medifast) because 1. I’m at a plateau and kinda bored with the food anyway, and 2. I want to transition to other foods that are easily found locally. What is standing in my way is 1. My sister and her husband do my grocery shopping for me, but because they are super busy, it’s kind of spotty, so it has been nice to have “food” that has a long shelf life; and 2. money – I won’t have income for at least the next 12-15 months, so I can’t afford to pay for things like delivery services. I also suffer from IBS (because why make things simple?). Looks like I have some reading to do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • IBS sucks! It’s so frickin common, yet they still don’t know much about it because they like to blame it on neuroses. Of course, the more research they do, the more it points to being organic in nature. Going grain-free was a great start for me, but I’m a carb/sugar addict so I was eating way too much of that stuff, which also makes me miserable. Moderation doesn’t work for me. Sure would be nice if it did!

      Are you cool with cooking? There’s a little prep involved. I spend about an hour a day in the kitchen between breakfast, lunch, and dinner (really not too bad), but I know there are times it’s a miracle I even make it downstairs. I imagine fatigue is a major battle for you? I do get lazy and just eat cheesesticks, or attack the peanut butter with a spoon, but I aim for balance.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m a corn-fed girl from the Midwest, so giving up grains is not so easy – though I really haven’t had any for about five months now. However, if I could snort M&M’s, I would, because I love them so much! The food prep would be a big deterrent for me because I have a really hard time if I’m up for more than 10 minutes – my brain starts having issues with the CSF flow, which presses on the nerves leading to my face and makes them paralyzed, so I can’t open my eyes much. (Sorry, way too much of an explanation there!) But that doesn’t mean that I won’t give it a try, I just need to figure out some shortcuts. I really appreciate you sharing all of the info.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you liked it. My sister has psoriasis as well and recently eliminated gluten and dairy. Her skin is doing quite a bit better now. I’ve only had one doctor tell me what I eat can make a difference (she recommended the paleo diet autoimmune protocol). I think there should be a bit more emphasis on diet in healthcare because it is one of the easiest and safest things a person can do for their health.

      Like

  2. I’m so happy you have posted about this. Mine is functional too, so it is even more hard to manage. I too have been eating “gluten free” for a while, but ever since I started the antidepressants, I am literally craving every chocolate dipped sugary thing I can find, and carby, and salty. It is awful. Veggies are hard for me too. Would it help if we had stomach transplants? I often think that it would 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

