My PvPness is Tiny

Years ago, I played multi-player fighting games with my friends.  Mortal Kombat, Virtua Fighter, King of Fighters, Capcom vs. SNK, Tekken, and Super Smash Bros. Melee.  I sucked, and when I say that I’m not just crapping on myself.  I really did suck.  I’m a prime example of a button masher. Sometimes that worked to my advantage, but most of the time it didn’t.  I knew devastating combo moves, yet when my turn came up, the pressure of not get my ass kicked left me in a button mashing stupor.  They enjoyed playing against me for obvious reasons.

Loser-630x420

I switched to solo play adventure and RPG games, and found it to be a much more satisfying experience.  After much baiting, I reluctantly began playing World of Warcraft.  I had no idea there were different server types, so I joined a PVP server one of my friends was on not knowing what I was getting myself into.  Levels 1-20 were just fine, with the exception of bored high level Alliance players killing off all of the poor NPC’s in the starting zones.  Once my questing lead me to contested zones, I spent most of the time dead.  Being ganked and corpse camped, so when I tried to respawn at my body, the opposing faction member could kill me again.  This made me very sour.

10399502_1082140334457_6695692_n

We meet again.

It took me months of frequent playing before I was eligible to purchase my slow ground mount at level 40, in the days before flying mounts ever existed.  People lovingly refer to this as vanilla WoW.  The “best”.  I think my vanilla days were clouded by the fact that I was on a fucking PvP server.  When I learned of PvE (player vs. environment) servers, where one has the ability to remove the “gank me” sign over their head, I so wanted to transfer.  By that time my husband was also playing, as well as a few of his coworkers.  They called me “a fucking pussy” for wanting to go normal.  I enjoy a little more survivability in my gaming, so I joined up on a PvE server with my old manager from the Pet Hole and took the abuse.

That’s when I really started to enjoy the game.  I loved the Burning Crusade when it released, and had just barely made it to level 70 when Wrath of the Lich King came out.  THE ACTUAL BEST.  Then it got a little TOO easy, and I lost interest.  I do still play every once in a while just to see what changes have been made, and it’s still a very good game, but I don’t feel the same draw to play it as I once did.  It could be that I’m getting old, or it truly is the Blizzard’s fault.  Whatever.

tkaa

 

I’ve been playing other games, namely Archeage.  I love Korean MMO’s, they’re terrible and wonderful at the same time.  TidyKat is now questing in what is WoW’s equivalent to a PvP zone, with no option to not PvP.  So far, I haven’t been ganked, even after playing in the zone for a total of about 12 hours, but I’m constantly on edge because of paranoia.  So I quit, and went back to WoW.  I’m trying to get all of my classes to level 100 before the next crappy expansion releases, and the only reason I’m doing it is for the distraction and the lack of effort it takes.  My brain is completely mushy.

Capture

I love games, but I guess I’m not a “real” gamer because the assholes say so.  Olivia Munn isn’t a real nerd or gamer, but I don’t hear many people complaining about her!  Who makes these rules anyhow?  Screw you guys.

 

9 thoughts on “My PvPness is Tiny

  1. haha I love this post. I used to play WOW many moons ago & then I just got away from it. I sucked but I enjoyed it for the most part. But after watching my friends for awhile, I recently started playing Fallout 4. It’s different but I love it & although it has shooting & I had some button mashing at first, once I got used to it, it wasn’t half bad. I suck at video games but love watching my friends play. and as to Hearthstone, I played awhile on my ipad then couldn’t get past the one level no matter what I did so I quit LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The production value of some games does make them just as much fun to watch. Halo, Mass Effect, Bioshock…I played a little, but mostly enjoyed watching my husband play. Fewer controllers got destroyed that way 😉

      I think the mobile version of Hearthstone is a bit different than the PC version. I didn’t get very far when I played it on my phone, yet unlocked a bunch more stuff when I played it on the computer. Someone told me you eventually have to “pay to win”, but I haven’t made it that far. When I get stuck, I imagine I’ll quit too!

      Liked by 1 person

    • When you’re running low on bud, try yelling “I need more mana!” to see if it gets conjured in front of you. That would be the coolest. I’d conjure myself some apple pie right now to deal with these late night munchies.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this! I played WoW all through BC and Wrath, but after Cata dropped everything changed and my Guild all kinda went separate directions, so we died off. So I play Diablo now when I get a chance.

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to me, Goose!

