Distractible Me

I’m a little too good at wallowing.  There’s a time for everything and it doesn’t hurt to acknowledge that sometimes life brings out the worst in me.  I haven’t found stuffing my emotions to be a particularly beneficial way to deal with things.  It turns me into a ticking bitch bomb, so I ride the rollercoaster and hope it eventually comes to a stop, or magically transforms into a lazy lagoon.

It’s nice to have other things to focus on, aka practicing the fine art of distraction.

Yesterday little miss lizard left a surprise for me…

IMG_20160520_150641

What the in hell is that white blob?  It’s an egg!  I was right about her sex.  Go, me.  She must’ve laid it on the ledge at the top where she hangs out, then it rolled down and adhered to the wall.  Kinda weird, kinda cool.  I take it as a sign that she’s healthy and happy.  It’s obviously not fertilized since she doesn’t have her own manchild.

This morning I went castle shopping.  18M can buy you a castle with a vineyard in Italy, in case you were wondering.

I’ve been trying to make donuts for about 4 days, but haven’t had the energy.  I got my 5th wind this evening and finally made the damn things.

I don’t have a normal donut pan, just minis.  They look like tiny bungholes, but they’re mighty tasty tiny bungholes as far as I can tell.  Manchild gives ’em two thumbs up.  Hey Johnna, they’re extremely soft!  I didn’t shake them in a bag of cinnamon sugar because it says to do it immediately before serving, and I don’t plan to eat all 4.5 dozen tonight…at least I don’t think so.  I bet they’d be good with a little icing too.  Or schmeared with cream cheese.  I heart donuts.

http://blog.kingarthurflour.com/2014/10/15/pumpkin-doughnuts-baked-to-perfection/

 

7 thoughts on “Distractible Me

  1. Mine turned out just like yours, soft and fluffy. But I don’t have a donut or muffin pan, just a small baking dish. So, mine was more like pumpkin bread, with large dark chocolate chips, and powdered sugar on top. I’m not going to tell you how much I ate, but suffice it to say that right now, I can’t move. This recipe is definitely a keeper. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

