Dream On

salvadordali21024

“The Persistence of Memory – 1931  ” ~Salvador Dali

I’ve been having some wild dreams.  Some are self-explanatory, while others are just too bizarre and abstract to make sense of.  Dreaming is exhausting.  It’s almost as exhausting as not sleeping at all.  The only way to guarantee a dreamless sleep is to down a few ounces of Brandy, but I shouldn’t do that very often.

Everyone dreams, but most people don’t remember them unless they happened to be awakened during the dream.  I retain everything for hours after waking, and can remember it all in vivid detail.  Then as time passes, it fades from memory and the only thing I can recall is that I had a really fucked up dream that didn’t make any sense.

I was shot through a teleporter and ended up in an underwater colony.  I was able to breathe the water with great effort, and though it was pitch black, I could see.  Enter the giant sea beast with 100 tentacles and large yellow eyes chasing me through the compound.  Bounding through water, closing hatches trying to escape.  The monster went limp from exhaustion and started to ascend.  I grabbed a tentacle and floated to the surface, where I was met by the sun.  I fell asleep in the sunlight while floating on the back of the putrid sea beast.  I ended up with one nasty sunburn.

Was all of that because I have a bottle of aloe on my nightstand?  I’m starting to get annoyed.  The more I dream, the less rested I am when I actually do sleep.  REM sleep is important, but even though you’re paralyzed during this stage, it’s the closest to actual wakefulness in terms of brainwave activity.  It’s called paradoxical sleep.  Beta waves are associated with deep, restorative sleep.  When I had my sleep study, it was clear that my sleep cycle is completely fucked.  The doctor told me it was likely a result of pain (he also runs a pain management clinic, so who knows if he was trying to scrounge up more business).  Vivid dreams are linked to depression, anxiety, and yes, even pain, so I’ve got three things working against me.

If I’m going to be completely knackered any way you slice it, I may as well have some fun with it.  I’ve decided to start a dream journal to document my otherworldly sleep travels, and if I get really ambitious, I may try to decode what is going on in my subconsciousness.  Although, I’m not sure I want to know.  My brain is a terrifying place.

11 thoughts on “Dream On

  1. I find that the more pain I’m in day to day, the more likely it is that I’ll have vivid dreams. Either that or be stuck awake all night like usual. Unlike you, I don’t retain details for long, 20 minutes at most before it fades into a blur. Unless I somehow manage to train myself to do ANYTHING other than run to the bathroom before my morning coffee, there’s no way I’d be able to jot any details down. It would however be neat to really see what’s going on in there when I’m not full of conscious thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One of my friends was into lucid dreaming, or so he thought, so he’d keep a notebook next to his bed to scribble down any dreams he had. I’ll probably use voice to text on my phone because I’m lazy.

      I think one of the most difficult things about aging is feeling like I’m losing my creativity because as adults we’re supposed to be wired to logic and rationality. At least my dreams tell a different story. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  2. You sound very creative! 🙂
    I’m having vivid dreams, more than usual, and it leaves me exhausted too.
    There are people who actually train themselves to do lucid dreaming at whim – like a kind of hobby. Some dream of events yet to happen… I find dreaming fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • They really are fascinating! I’m aware that I’m dreaming most of the time, so even when the dream is nightmarish, it doesn’t usually have me waking up in a panic. I guess that’s semi-lucid. I can’t alter the course of the dream, though. If I could, I’d never want to be awake. Dream physics are awesome 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      • Years ago, I talked to a medical cannabis patient who suffered from PTSD, and she told me that cannabis allows her to be present in her nightmares, giving her the ability to have some control. I was like, dude, that’s awesome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think you can train yourself to be able to change the course of a dream, I can sometimes do it. I’ve also had a couple of dream premonitions, but when I usually mention that to people they think I’m crazy or it makes them uncomfortable…
        I had a vivid dream of my dad saying goodbye to me because he was going on a journey, and a month later he passed away. 🙂

        Like

  3. Unless it’s a nightmare, dreams don’t really bother me. And I already know what my nightmares are about. I guess it would be interesting to try and decode dreams, like learning a new language. Although I don’t know how you would figure out if your analysis was correct or not. Can dreams teach us more about ourselves? I dunno. Seems like dreams are the brain’s way of having fun while you’re asleep. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • I guess the problem lies in believing a dream is telling you something, when you’ve incorrectly decoded it. Like if the aliens sent a message that they come in peace, but we translated it incorrectly, and they’re really coming to kill us all. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

