A Slew of Gratitude And Admiration

Each day I get older, every 365 days my age gets another notch, the less I want to celebrate myself and the more I want to celebrate the people who add a little love and light to our world.

weddingday2

To my Mom; I wouldn’t be here without you, obviously.  You’re my moral compass, my guardian angel, my parent, my parole officer, and my friend.  You’re the kindest, most empathetic person I have ever met and I am the woman I am today because you set limits with me, helped me learn right from wrong, and preached the importance of compassion.

298436_10151056974627607_1102846036_n

To Wendi; We’ve been friends FOREVER, and even though we rarely speak, when we’re together it’s like we were never apart.

 

11001762_10153178630973938_3429010096490880406_n

To Rich and Jay; You guys are my family by choice, and I love you both.  I’m so happy you’re finally getting hitched, and can’t wait to stand next to you while you exchange vows.

 

12046776_938087619604236_633747857536133577_n

To Jayson; I pick up the pieces of your heart when a girl breaks it, then serve it to you on a plate with salsa.  Thanks for being a fool who never gives up on love, and one of my best friends.

 

4798_673884029074_7008059_n

To Steve; During your endless pursuit of fame and fortune, you realized it’s the people who are important, not the stuff you own.  Thanks for putting up with my abuse and always coming back for more!

58901_10151594303056383_1156949827_n

To Allie; Thanks for being the one person who can tell my husband he’s being a dumbass, and he actually listens!

 

488319_10102622539561749_7691414530729118310_n

To Jonathan; We’re just dust in the wind, dude.  In another life, we were either twins or lovers.  You understand me in a way that no one does, and I’m forever grateful for your friendship.

 

12246793_10153378909183717_8586526741999960441_n

To Jason; You were the only one brave enough to test out all of the available brands of absinthe with me, and you taught me the perfect pour.  You tell me I have smarts, even when I feel dumb because you’re a literal genius.

 

And of course, I can’t forget about my blog people!

Johnna; My favorite chocoholic, cynic realist, and alien (or human, depending on the day of the week ;))

Me; The perfect combo of strength and vulnerability.  She makes me smile every day with her mission to make herself smile every day!

Ms. Mango; My hair color inspiration and sister in manchild suffering

Xunae; Strong enough to allow herself to feel all of the feels, a fighter, and a survivor

Tracy; Thanks for making sure my mornings aren’t without great tunes!

Vivia; Rarely seen, often thought about – Vivia has heart!

Laura; She has the best stories, and is living proof that not all doctors are inhuman assholes.

Steff; If she were any sweeter, I’d never need another cookie in my life.

Lifespaller; Survivor of Crohn’s, PhD cultivator, Koala tamer

Suzette; Stranger to none, Suzette has a way of making a person feel loved

ALL chronic illness bloggers; Your words matter, are heard, and appreciated more than you realize.  Be honest with yourselves, and don’t worry about being forthright when you write about your struggles.  It might just end up saving a life!

24 thoughts on “A Slew of Gratitude And Admiration

  1. What an amazing sentiment to pass on on your special day! HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I completely agree, as I age, I find myself more interested in just being with and acknowledging the people that I love instead of celebrating a date or a number. Well, that and the excuse to eat cake… I hope you have a wonderful weekend and get to enjoy feeling the love from the people you care about and who you obviously care boat loads about too! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww fellow crabby person! Thanks for the shout out and the kind words. Even more importantly, Happy Birthday to you! Still hoping that the brace came in so that you can go to the Irish festival! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww, shucks. Now I have to actually write a story just for you, because you are such a fucking wonderful human being. Tears. I hope you had a wonderful birthday, and I wish you as many more as you want. Love ya, sweetie!

    (From your favorite oo-ee-oo-ah-ah)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah Kara, you’re one of the most beautiful people I know. I love that pic of you and your mum 🙂 I’m glad you have this love from others… and thanks for the mention 😀
    Have a great weekend – well, it’s Sunday now! – whatever you do. 💜 🐻 🐉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sweet. You do know your writing talent is way up the
    re, and you just get better and faster. I love seeing a new post from you and the great comments from the usual suspects.! I never miss one, so I am actually always around. Loved.seeing MC !

    Like

    • Oh good! I was hoping you saw it. 😀

      It’s all of the wonderful people and their banter that make me more comfortable with writing. I don’t feel as inclined to be reserved. One of the things that turned me off to the food blogging thing was how fake people seemed (and then Crohn’s, of course). I was not a fan.

      Ah, yes…the boy who doesn’t exist. He’s pretty cute for being non-existent. I think I’ll keep him. 😉

      Like

  6. Pingback: Love When I Need It Most | Polishing Dookie

Talk to me, Goose!

