An Electronica Journey: Part 1

If I need something to get me moving, there’s nothing like electronic music to light a fire under my ass.  On the flip side, if I need to cool my jets, there’s nothing like a little ambient trance or chillout music to, eh, make me chill out.  A dude I dated for a few years was a techno junkie, and I couldn’t stand it.  It all sounded the same to me.  I was stuck on NIN and Tool at the time, so my music library and preferences were limited.  Now some of my favorite artists are BT, Armin Van Buuren, Orbital, The Orb, The Crystal Method, Chemical Brothers, and The Glitch Mob.

It started with The Orb – Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld.  This album blew my mind.  It’s completely different than other music in the sense that it’s more like watching a movie in your mind.  I’d sprawl out on the floor with my eyes closed and listen to it from the beginning to the end.  Fractal patterns emerged, and played out scenes as the music changed.  I almost can’t believe this album was recorded in 1991.  I still have a difficult time calling this music, as I think it’s more of a soundscape.  Whatever you call it, it’s out of this world.

The Orb’s Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld, a 1991 ambient house concept album, is the debut full-length release by electronic music collective The Orb. The album’s framework is of a two-hour psychedelic trip through music genres and studio electronics, produced to “push the threshold” of live stage performance. The double album is a continuous progressive composition consisting of several tracks advancing the journey concept and composed of vocal samples and sound effects interspersed with original music. There are three versions, a 109:41-minute UK release, a 70:41-minute US release and a 182:05-minute UK Deluxe Edition reissue that was released in mid-2006.

If you’ve got about 10 minutes to waste, relax, close your eyes and enjoy the journey.  Results may vary. 😉

9 thoughts on “An Electronica Journey: Part 1

    • Definitely not relaxing, but you’ve got to relax to submit to the…um, trip. After 4 songs of outer-spacy stuff, there’s one titled ‘perpetual dawn’ and it sounds like there’s a man burbling his lips with his finger. Scares me every time. It’s all very bizarre, and this is how my brain works 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: An Electronica Journey: Part 2 | Polishing Dookie

Talk to me, Goose!

