An Electronica Journey: Part 2

My poor little brain goes through a lot of changes, between drugs and turning into an old fart.  In Part 1, I talked about my split personality when it comes to techno music.  It has been a 15 year evolution.

I “took a break” from college when I turned 20, and used the money I had set aside for books on the purchase of a PS2.  Final Fantasy X was absolute murder on my motivation to do anything else.  I borrowed games from friends often, rather than purchasing them.  Smitty put a game into my hand and said, “play this as soon as you get home, and be prepared to not sleep for a month.”  The game was Frequency, and the rest is history.

It’s the music rhythm game that paved the way for Guitar Hero and Rock Band.  It was the first of its kind, and to this day, is on my top 10 list of console games.  Frequency is mostly electronic music, but when it’s successor Amplitude was released, there was metal, alternative, and other genre’s included.  When I received the game, I was still on the fence about techno.  I couldn’t decide if I loved it or hated it.  It was this game that made me fall in love with BT, if not the entire genre.

BT, or Brian Transeau, is from Washington D.C. and trained in classical music so the fact that he made the house/trance music scene boom in Britain is an interesting progression.  His music includes quite a few vocal tracks, and along with symphonic music.  During his career, the ‘feel’ of his music has become less organic.  It has depth, but lacks the warmth that it once had.  That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy his newer stuff!  ‘These Hopeful Machines’ released in 2010 remains one of my favorites, but ‘Movement in Still Life’ released in 1999 is my absolute favorite.  He has done collaborations with Armin Van Buuren, Mike Oldfield, Seal, is routinely played by super DJ’s like Sasha and Paul Oakenfold, and even played synth on a Salt-n-Pepa album!

If the Orb song made you want to bash your skull in, this one is completely different and a great example of BT’s compositional abilities – marrying classic music with the electronic genre.

Original version, from Movement in Still Life

Symphonic version, from Electronic Opus

2 thoughts on “An Electronica Journey: Part 2

  1. Well that first one there was….interesting, but I wouldn’t say I would relax to it. Sounded to me like a Rob/White Zombie song intro that just never took off (missing the distorted power chords and his vocal stylings to finish it off). This one though I could definitely chill to when I don’t want something that takes effort to listen to. Reminds me of something I may have heard in the late 90’s early 2000’s though I don’t ever recall listening to electronica/techno much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah! The Orb is wacky. I love BT. I used to think that creating this sort of music takes absolutely no skill, but he’s not just a DJ. He actually writes his own music. Some of it is more beat driven/crazy, but he’s good at balancing the albums and ending them on a down-tempo song. Oh! I watched a video on Youtube of Zakk Wylde playing a Hello Kitty guitar…lol, good shit. My Mom enjoyed it too. Always a bonus!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

