Use Your Words

Someone once told me that only dumb people curse because they can’t think of any other words to use.  I promptly told that person to fuck off.  I know plenty of words that I choose to replace with curse words, because they’re so fucking handy.

lexicon

I know more words than a dog!  I’m not as think as you dumb I am.  The internet says so!  It MUST be true!

How many words are in the English language?  About 1.025 million, and many of those are medical terms or words from other languages that have been adopted by Merriam Webster, such as laissez-faire and coup.

Since the quiz brought it up, let it be known that Shakespeare created over 1700 words during his career.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t hate every minute I wasted reading Shakespeare in school.  Without Shakespeare, The Joker wouldn’t be an arch-villain.  It was his idea to add modifying prefixes and suffixes to words, so there ya go.  He may have written like he was baked on opium (was he??), but he made quite a contribution.

shakespearean-sloth-meme

Do you wish to inaccurately test the size of your vocabulary?  Follow the yellow brick road to the link below.

yellow-brick-road

 http://www.arealme.com/vocabulary-size-test/en/

15 thoughts on “Use Your Words

    • That’s true! I know some very basic sign language (other than flipping up the middle finger), and it’s cool you’re learning! It probably takes quite a bit of practice to make it more fluid and develop the muscle memory of the motions.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. OK, I did it. I gritted my teeth the whole way, though, because the fucking thing says, “THE synonym….etc), when first of all the synonyms they picked are very vague, and the question should read, “A synonym,” not “THE synonym,” because that is not the only synonym there is. Picky, picky. But fun! Thank you. Now I’m going back to watching Betty Boop cartoons 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was an interesting game, but then I love word games. And because I’m competitive, I can report that my score was 30,325. That’s the top 0.01%, thank you very much. (Like I’m in the 0.01% of anything.) I wish I could have seen which answers I got wrong, but I’m not anal enough to take the test again and figure it out.

    I win! I win! I’ve never won anything before! I’m smarter than everyone! I’m Queen of the World! And I can’t wait to get my internet degree in the mail. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

        • I figured you probably don’t have an elephant yet, and it might be fun to have one around. People like to talk about the elephant in the room, right? Call it a conversation piece.

          Chickpea flour is good. It works best in savory stuff, though I’ve made sweet versions before. If I could find sprouted besan, or ferment the batter before using it, the likelihood of being a fart cannon would decrease. Have you had falafel? The besan is the primary flavor, so that might give you an idea of what it tastes like. Or a slightly less roasted sunbutter flavor. Hummus, I believe deserves a shrine. I love beans. Oooh, azuki beans are even better because they’re sort of sweet. I made brownies using them in place of flour. They were delightful. Gosh, beans are the best.

          Like

          • I’ve only tried two types of flour, white and wheat. But I’ve been wondering how to put more flavor into my bread and pizza dough. I’ve tried mixing lots of garlic and other spices with the flour, but I haven’t found a mixture that I really love. I suppose if I had a professional bread oven, I could get more flavor. But I want flour with gluten. I don’t wanna make bean bread. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            • Wheat is the only way to go. If I really really really want pizza, I eat the real stuff. All of the gluten free crusts I’ve tried have been crap, and I don’t feel like ordering all of the expensive fake flours to try my own mix. The recipe I use is well received by anyone who has tasted the end result. Even the harpy told me I should open a pizza shop. That’s probably the only compliment she has given me other than a quiche I made when they visited another time. It’s a combination of several recipes that I’ve tried out, so I don’t really know who to give credit to other than myself.

              -3C flour + 2T of toasted wheat germ
              -1 packet of yeast, or 1T if you use bulk yeast – you don’t even have to proof it first, just mix it in to the dry stuff
              -1T sugar
              -2t of salt (or seasoned salt),
              -1t garlic powder
              -1/2t each of oregano, onion powder, and optional red pepper flakes

              -1/2 stick of butter, cut into pieces and worked into the dry ingredients, kinda like pastry
              -1C of lukewarm water, plus more as needed

              I’m sure you know how to mix and knead. 🙂

              If you’re feeling fancy, you can dust the pan with cornmeal. It makes the dough easier to roll out and adds a little somethin’ somethin’. I partially bake the crust as hot as the oven will go for about 4 minutes, then brush the top with a little olive oil to keep the crust from getting soggy when the toppings are added, and from drying out during baking. I bake it at 375 for about 18 minutes, or until the crust is golden and pretty.

              The longer you allow the dough to rise, the more flavorful it will be, or so I’ve read. If I plan to make it for dinner, I usually mix it up in the morning and let it rise all day.

              I think it’s probably the butter and the wheat germ that make it extra special. Butter makes everything better! This is enough dough for 2 thinner crust pizzas, or one thicker monster pizza. The dough can be frozen for later use.

              Liked by 1 person

              • I’m definitely going to try your recipe, thanks so much. So, you add all the dry ingredients together, than work the butter in. And then do you add the water? Because I usually add the yeast and water together, then add all the other ingredients. I’ve used cornmeal before and I didn’t think it added anything special. How do you store your dough while letting it rise all day? I usually let it rise for a couple of hours under a damp towel. But for all day, I’d worry that it would get dried out. Plus, I usually have the oven on around 250 degrees while the dough is rising. Do you refrigerate your dough while it’s rising?

                Liked by 1 person

                • Yup, mix all the dry, add the butter, then the water. You can proof it separately in water if you want, but it cuts out a step that ended up making zero difference. Yeast dies if it gets too hot… I’m not sure exactly what temp that happens, but anywhere between 75 and 85 degrees should give it plenty of rise. I oil the bowl a little, then roll the dough ball in it to coat it. That helps hold the moisture, then I cover it loosely with plastic wrap and let it sit out on the counter.

                  You can do a slow rise overnight in the fridge, same rules as a regular rise, then pull it out so it can come to room temp before you bake it. I prefer to leave it out because I think the crust is less chewy that way.

                  Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

