Heart, don’t fail me now.

I woke this morning with an aching heart.  Not the figurative type of heart ache, but that ball of muscle and vasculature in my chest was whining at me with every downbeat.  I think it’s worn out.  Yesterday I couldn’t breathe in any position other than reclined, so I spent most of the day in bed watching Six Feet Under.  When I say I couldn’t breathe, it was a subjective feeling of oxygen starvation.  My actual saturation was 95%, which is perfectly acceptable.

I had only eaten a zone bar that I had stashed in my nightstand because I didn’t even want to attempt going down the stairs when simply walking 15 paces into the bathroom made my vision narrow and light up with stars (they actually look more like gnats to me, but “seeing gnats” doesn’t sound as whimsical).  I waited 8 hours for MC to return from his outing, then requested a salt bomb and a shit ton of water.  I did text him several hours earlier to let him know what was going on, but didn’t hear anything from him until he walked in the door after 7pm.  I was miffed.

It wasn’t until about 10pm that I could finally sit up and not get all grayed out and gnatty.

Back to this morning.  My heart hurts.  My head hurts.  I stand up and lose my hearing.  I don’t know what the fuck is going on, other than my blood pressure being a little low.

The last time I felt this way, I had pericarditis.  I wasn’t planning to see my cardiologist any time soon.  I read somewhere that moderate alcohol consumption is good for the heart.  I can handle that treatment.  Actually, I can’t.  I’m alcohol intolerant. ๐Ÿ˜ญ

14 thoughts on “Heart, don’t fail me now.

  1. Grrrrr, don’t like. You know what I’m thinking….or maybe your brain is too starved for oxygen to think remotely clearly.

    Therefore I say unto you: get thee to medical attention! 95% is OK for someone at 7,000 feet, but at sea level, it shows that something is not quite right in the, ahem, circulation department. If you needed more evidence than gnats in your eyes….

    Your low BP may be part of a larger picture that just complicates the job of moving your blood around. There are many reasons for “pump failure,” some of which are purely “functional” as in “preload failure,” which means there isn’t enough pressure coming into the heart to properly fill the right ventricle, and thus the blood does not get pumped through the lungs efficiently. Just one example, not necessarily correct.

    Bottom line: you need to be seen, ASAP.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Agreed. The last time my stats looked like that I was already in the ER. Tell Manchild to pick your ass up and carry you out to the car and take you to the ER. Please? (We’re worried about you!)

      Liked by 3 people

    • I’m confused. Google says that normal blood oxygen levels are 95-100 percent. (As a smoker, I know I’m not at 100%.) I don’t know much about blood pressure readings, either. Wouldn’t a really skinny person have low blood pressure? Kara, is that considered low blood pressure for you?

      Good thing I’m not a doctor, because I don’t know what’s going on…

      Liked by 1 person

      • I guess it depends on if it’s low and I’m asymptomatic versus low and symptomatic. There’s very little difference between what feels okay and what has me going deaf and blind. I guess “normal” for me is 110/70, estimation of course. Volume does come into play, too. Less body mass means a lower fluid volume. I get dehydrated easily because I don’t retain much excess fluid and..uh, GI complications. That’s why I do the salt/slamming water thing. It’s a crapshoot. Pun possibly intended.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Maybe you should visit an oxygen bar. If there’s not one in your area, just go buy some helium balloons. Same difference. But, before you suck the oxygen or helium, tie one of your wrists to a heavy piece of furniture. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Why are we still talking? Shouldn’t you be in the ER, you stupid cunt? ๐Ÿ˜€

          Like

          • Hahahaha!! ๐Ÿ˜‚

            I’m fine as long as I don’t stand up for too long. No problem, the man serf has tomorrow off for the holiday, which is another reason not to go. The real docs and techs are out until Tuesday. If I die, I give you permission to kick my ass. But I won’t die. I’m invincible.

            Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

