Petition: KEEP the EFMP

IMG_0417_114804EFMP (Exceptional Family Member Program) is a program that US active duty military service members’ dependents (spouses and children) can enroll in if they have special medical or mental health needs.

EFMP ensures the needs of the families are taken into consideration during reassignment.  It includes case management services, while also streamlining and expediting access to care.  

I was enrolled in this program shortly after I was diagnosed with Crohn’s and Chronic Kidney Disease and was extremely ill.  Prior to enrollment, our orders had us going to Fairbanks, Alaska.  The nearest gastroenterologist and nephrologist were a six hour drive to Anchorage.  As I know now, this would have been a death sentence for me (and for him as well).

MC’s orders were changed to reflect that, based on medical need, we could NOT be moved to Fairbanks.  He was sent to ROK, and the orders were amended to have me move onto his follow-on base ahead of him so I would have access to the services I needed.  This was all possible because of my EFMP profile*.

EFMP isn’t just for children, although there are recreational programs designed specifically for children with special needs.  Any way you slice it, this is an essential program that if cut, would have catastrophic consequences for military families.

Please consider taking a moment to sign the petition, then share it, should you feel compelled to do so.

https://www.change.org/p/don-t-take-respite-care-away-for-military-families-with-special-needs-children

*I’m due for review and half expect to find that I no longer qualify.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Petition: KEEP the EFMP

Talk to me, Goose!

