More slothy than a sloth

Did you know sloths only defecate once every 7 to 10 days?  It’s a huge deal for them.  Also, despite having a reputation of sleeping all of the time, they only sleep an average of 10 hours per day.  I’m way more languid than a sloth these days.

NGS Picture Id:2365610

Pensive sloth agrees, Kara is lazy

My daily ritual has been to do a little reading, a little writing, then watch Smallville until my brain starts to decompose.  What happens when Clark Kent sneezes?  It’s a tempest!  I have been writing every day even if most of what I’ve written remains unpublished.  It’s an easy way to get it all out without feeling like an asshole for oversharing.  You’re welcome?

The past few days have been a literal snoozefest.  I’ve been sleeping more than I’ve been awake.  Trust me, I’m not complaining.  The more I sleep, the less often I’m harassed by other people so this narcolepsy routine has some fringe benefits.

I’ve been having some problems with nystagmus, which means it looks like the whole world is shaking around me and I can’t get a ‘lock’ on anything I’m looking at because my eyes are bouncing around.  It’s a lot like being drunk without drinking.  I’ve had nystagmus before but can’t say I noticed a difference in my vision because it was very subtle.  Now that my eyes have decided to go ape-shit, I can definitely tell.  Apparently, I’m not the only one dealing with this problem right now.

tenor

Luckily, it hasn’t caused too much of a headache.  It’s more of a feeling in the pit of my stomach somewhere between nausea and vertigo.

Back to the sleep thing, I can’t seem to get enough of it.  I’m up for an hour, then I sleep for three or four.  I’m so tired, my exhaustion is exhausted.  I know that probably doesn’t make any sense, but that’s how it is in my world of nonsense.  People have had trouble waking me and it currently takes a firm shaking of shoulder to get me to snap out of dreamland (which, I should add, has been absolutely amazing).

I’d say this is quite unusual for me, yet I seem to remember sleeping through the apocalypse once.  It happens from time to time, the death-sleeps.  It’s quite a nice departure from insomnia and I hope it’s a good sign, rather than a bad one.  Eh, who cares.  Hooray, sleep!

7 thoughts on “More slothy than a sloth

  1. Oh my gosh the video is so cute! He looked very relieved to be going. Phew, that was hard work.
    I missed this post somehow, I didn’t forget you though.
    Your nystagmus sounds like oscillopsia. The way you are seeing things.
    I only get nystagmus when my vertigo is bad. I have a friend who has it all the time.
    It makes my eyes so tired.
    Ummm, sleep sounds good.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, Goose!

